Incitement

I hear the frequency of my kitchen

the deafening sound of appliances

that killed the wind, the quiet

murmur of the grass and the cicadas

and the death throes of little animals

I try to remember the smell of the earth

her dirt, her ashes, her streams, her stones

her forests, her oceans, the long traces

of life in her atmosphere. Instead

I glance at plywood fronts and plastic

and marble and steel and glass and all

brand new, and clean. Inert, threatening

to kill me

I am organic life forgetting itself

forgetting that time is in order

and that I am free, because of it

‘Freedom’. 50x50cm, Acrylic on canvas by Camille van Neer

Incitement was originally published on Meandering home

Published by

Kamiel Choi

Dutch philosopher and poet, sometimes sharing thoughts on the internet.

Leave a Reply

