June 28. Glasses are stolen.

My glasses are stolen. This is the right moment. Yes, it is, yes. It is the last item that I carry from the past. How much can I give in to my tendency to dramatize the event, to clay it with fatty fingers and make it into something with some sort of celestial essence. Right. In German a philosopher criticizing another philosopher would call it “hochstilisieren”. It happens after a nice football game between Argentina and Mexico, which we view on a big screen. But the mirthful nightly public viewing event quickly turns into a dark pit for thieves.

It is a long day. On our way to the mall, the “built-up” one, I pick up a pair of strong slippers that look like Kenyattas since I don’t want to step into a dirty abuser’s needle and die. What is a “built-up” place? We have had a lot of discussions about that starring me beating about the bush, reluctant to admit I mean Starbucks-Dubai Mall-Coffee Bean-Free wifi-Hilton lobby-shiny marble-steel ‘n glass kind of built-up. I am trying other adjectives to express my wish to sit down in a clean Westernized place every now and then, like “glossy”, “shiny”, “polished”, “Dubaiesk”.

In the Mall I find three months worth of contact lenses and very friendly staff explaining Astigmatism and Myopia, oxygen level and moisture, changed my dollars, and give me free cleansing fluid. I bow. We walk through the mall and sit down for a while in a coffee place to bring the first hours of dizziness behind me.
After that, we find a small hotel and with Yeon’s friend Mark. We have a nice streetside dinner together and meet some passionate Malaysians and a lovely French girl. Having introduced myself as Dutch, that is “Oranje”, we inevitably go and watch the game that is on. I can’t remember the opponent but the game was a bit boring and the outcome made everybody shruck despite the fact Holland made it further in the competition.

Published by

Kamiel Choi

Dutch philosopher and poet, sometimes sharing thoughts on the internet.

Leave a Reply

