October 21. Charity Travel on a CS meeting.

After a lazy morning and a delicious Turkish breakfast Mehmet explains me how to get to Taksim. Getting around in Istanbul with minibuses is easier than I thought. So, with the afternoon sun in my face I stroll down the main shopping street towards the famous Galata tower, and have myself shot to 60-something meters for an amazing view of the city. Dutifully, I produced some digital carvings of Istanbuls smoggy horizon that is so characteristically needled with minaret spines. Mehmet calls me since we have an appointment with ACEV, the charity I am supporting in Turkey. A bit later than planned we show up and get a thorough explanation of what açev does: fighting illiteracy and too late child schooling in 78 of Turkey’s 81 provinces. I decide to visit one of their projects in a poor southern province on my way to Syria and that can be arranged. All excited, we step out the building and have a pide-dinner in that area, before going to the couchsurfing meeting.
That meeting surely has some good vibes. I get to talk to many friendly people and explain Charity Travel a couple of times. I demonstrate my mini-beamer, one of the coolest gadgets around, to an Australian guy that is about to start a hostel chain in Colombia; I talk to a Canadian violinist who is a great admirer of Barenboim too; I chat with a Kurdish man who quit his “boring job in finance” to travel big time on a round-the-world ticket; I listen to Mehmet and his friend conversing in Kurdish; say hello to Daniel an American English teacher with a fantastic moustache; I’m introduced to Deniz the 19-year old management student who believes I’m twenty; it’s a nice evening and it really makes me feel good to see how much alive the couchsurfing spirit is.

Published by

Kamiel Choi

Dutch philosopher and poet, sometimes sharing thoughts on the internet.

Leave a Reply

